Lynn's Little Nest

A fine WordPress.com site

Why the “Little Nest”?

In honor of Birdie and her hard work and effort. Birdie gave me a huge opportunity when she invited me to edit her blog. I was truly honored by the invite. I racked my brain to think of aΒ new and different name but, kept coming back to this one. It felt friendly and warm, the way Birdie and all her little Birdies made me feel. Hopefully you will feel the same.

Still working on issues and kinks but, hopefully those will be ironed out soon. My promise to all who comment here is to make this as good a site as Birdie made hers. With your help and suggestions we can all learn and grow.

WELCOME to the Little Nest

open thread…

94 Comments

  1. Yeah, I did it!!

  2. Annie's Mom

    Hooray!!!

    • Can’t believe it…still have some things to adjust. Lots of work to do…name is ok?

      • Annie's Mom

        Yup. It’ll be nice and cozy…

      • MRM

        Perfect. and, congratulations!

        • Thank yew! πŸ™‚

  3. Hollydolly

    So glad to see this! Thanks for the new nest Lynn II.

    • Welcome! Will do my very best to make it comfortable for all of you. πŸ˜€

  4. Welcome to Bloggy World ! I LOVE the theme, the layout, the header …. great job!

    • Thank yew! Are you able to read it well enough? Kept that thought uppermost as I bungled my way through this… LOL

      • It’s very readable, thanks for that consideration !

  5. Are you ready to let me roll out your big announcement ? I see the peeps are already catching it at the Refugee Camp πŸ˜€

    • Go for it! I’ll just keep adding and adjusting as I move along… too funny πŸ˜€

      • Oh you’re more than ready ! Okay, I’ll put up a new post later and send ’em over. Those following closely these past few days will probably find out before that πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you for taking in all us refugees….Send me a link to Polination will add it along with your link. You are the best! πŸ˜€

  6. srdem65

    Wow! you are the best. I was OK with our temporary “roost”, but it’s good to be in our home.

    • Thank yew! I promise to do my best πŸ˜‰

    • Yes, I needed a “home” too. I will still be blog pimping here and birdies are always welcome to stop by. πŸ˜€

      • srdem65

        Thank you for your hospitality, {{ xx }} (hugs and kisses)

  7. MTVA

    The new nest is quite lovely! You’ve done a great job. Now if only Birdie herself would drop in…

    • Going to email her and cross my fingers she does…..

  8. geoprof

    Hooray!!!!! I wondered when you would take the plunge. I saw on Michelle’s Mirror today. I wish you all the very best.

    • thank yew! It was a big gulp and then jump…. LOL
      So many nice people helped in this decision. (actually pushed and shoved) πŸ˜€

    • Hoo boy…that is some wardrobe

    • WellMoochelle...

      I see several items that will be MOO-propriate……….at least in her alcohol-clouded eyes.

  9. Elizabeth

    Oh good! I just couldn’t imagine facing the election season without ‘the nest’!

    • So glad you’re happy with it! πŸ™‚

  10. Florida Girl

    Yay, yay, yay. The new nest is very nice. I wish you the best of luck and no trolls, Lynn II. I am sorry for Birdie. She was one tweet lady!!!!!!

    • I miss Birdie a lot…but, happy you found the new nest πŸ™‚

  11. Missing Laura Bush

    Nice job Lynn!

    • Thank yew! πŸ™‚ So glad you found us

  12. Good luck Lynn II! Please tell Birdie we all miss her, and thank her for her years of tireless efforts to educate the uneducated.

    • Whoa! I love my new slim self.

      • You’ve been reflecting MO too long….it’s clouded your receptors… πŸ™‚
        We reflect reality here…thus the slim you!

    • Thanks MOTUS! I am hoping Birdie will stop by.

  13. Yay for trackbacks ! Glad I can blog pimp now without working too hard (h/t Michelle Obama). For those not used to blogspeak, here ya’ go:

    http://bloghopenchangery.com/2012/07/05/lynns-little-nest-newsbird-2-0-is-here/

    The Birdies are BACK !

  14. Anonna

    Have just put you on my fav list under the “Great Blogs” category. Thank you, Lynn, for building a nest for us!

    • Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

  15. creeper00

    {adding bookmark}

    It’s good to see your new blog, Lynn. I’m so sorry to learn we lost Birdie.

    You need a lot of starch to be a blog owner.

    • Thank yew! Going to do the best job possible for Birdie and all the rest πŸ™‚

  16. Astroserf

    Good job Lynn II. Long live the snark.

    • Thanks!! You betcha! πŸ™‚

  17. YEAH!!!!!!! I am so happy for you Lynn II!! This is wonderful, and so awesome to see so many fellow Birdettes! I know you will do a great job, and I wish you nothing but the best. I echo the sentiments of everyone here, and am just so happy to be back in the “nest”. YAY!!! I also hope that Birdie will stop by and visit and that when you connect with her, please give her my (and I am sure everyone else’s) very best wishes.

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚
      The invitation has been sent. Hope Birdie will pop by…

  18. nellyq

    so pleased to see that the new nest is up and going!! One more bookmarked site to read in the morning–not that I’m complaining! Best of luck to you and I am looking forward to reading the commentary of all birdettes again!

    • “I am looking forward to reading the commentary of all birdettes again!”

      Me too! …..and thank you for the bookmark

  19. I would recommend adding “White House Dossier” to your blogroll. If you haven’t checked it out yet, it is really good. I think you would like it, and fellow Birdettes visit there too. Keith has some very good snarking skills…..

    • I’ll make sure to add it…see I really do need all of you! πŸ˜‰

  20. Sorry, one more comment….I love your photo w/ the baby in the nest. Sooo cute!

    • Thanks……

  21. WellMoochelle...

    Lynn, Great to have a new nest. It’s probably silly, but I felt a little bit of a loss without Birdie’s site to go to everyday. And, for those who didn’t read my post at MOTUS, I’ll repeat. I received an email from Birdie.

    Right after Lynn was appointed as editor, one “l” Michele posted as Calista the Mistress (something like that, butt you get the idea) in the middle of the night. I had arrived home after being out of town and saw a rather derogatory post regarding Lynn. I emailed Birdie and she happened to be right there. She took care of the post. Butt, the reason for mentioning this is that she sent an email to me. I’m terrible about cleaning out old emails – I usually delete hundreds at a time – so I still had her email address. I emailed her and was so happy that she emailed back. She asked me to pass along the following if I had the opportunity:

    “If you are in touch with the others on another site let them know I THANK ALL OF THEM for hanging in there as a great group of individuals, together until I just could not take it any more. I had no other option due to medical reasons.

    God bless you and the other Birdettes, the blog was a very important part of my life for more than 3 years and I cherish the good memories WE CREATED out the **** that is the Obama destroying our beloved country. Take good care, times are really hard!”

    And to Birdie……..God bless you and THANK YOU for the relief you provided for all of us. You are in my prayers!

    And Lynn, thanks again for the new nest. We’ll try to do Birdie proud!

    • We can only hope to meet Birdie’s standards and courage.
      Thanks for posting the message. You’re one of the good guys! πŸ™‚

    • Florida Girl

      So sweet, WM. I, like many, found Birdie when I was feeling overwhelmed by the new “administration” We were all “birds of a feather” and the snark was delicious!!!!! I loved her, Cripes Suzette and MOTUS. I will miss Newsbird and I wish her all the best. I hope her health is well and she knows that she provided a much needed haven for all of those weary and in need of a nice place to rest. Thanks Lynn II for continuing her quest. I can’t wait!!!!

      • Me too Florida Girl ^5

  22. Cyndi

    Thank you so much for doing this, Lynn. I don’t comment very often, but think all the birdies are wonderful and I love to read what they have to say about things.

    • Welcome! Please feel free to comment as often as you’d like….we’re an openminded bunch πŸ˜€

  23. DLeigh

    As a silent reader of the wonderful birds of a feather, thanks for making it happen. As a southern California resident, I flew to the old site often and was a little sad when it closed. It was my secret time waste that I truly enjoyed and I will be back.

    • Thank you and please join the fun…the little birdies would love it. πŸ™‚

  24. PortiaElizabeth

    Awwwwwright!! While I grieve for the loss of Newsbird (who was such an inspiration to PUMAS who felt lost and abandoned), I know Lynn will carry on the tradition and all the great commentaries and snarks. Thanks to everyone!
    (Lynn, if a troll rears its ugly avatar, please let me take the first swing.)

    • …”if a troll rears its ugly avatar, please let me take the first swing”
      All yours… πŸ˜‰

  25. flbreeze

    BRAVA, BRAVISSIMA!!!

    This is an ‘old’ MOL who visited Birdie’s site every day, although I never posted.
    It’s wonderful to see this new blog, Lynn.

    Best wishes, will visit often.

    Please forward LOVE and PRAYERS to Birdie from me. Thank you!!!

    • Thanks! Please do and comment too. Birdie would be so proud of everyone today… πŸ™‚

  26. Annie's Mom

    Oh, h e double ll hockey sticks…I added an avatar (finally), and now can’t post at Stealth Magnolia to thank Denise. Grr…I hate being computer challenged!

    DVB thank you so much for your Southern hospitality. {{hugs}}

  27. Francine

    Yippee! Been having withdrawl!

    • LOL πŸ˜€ …. me too…

  28. Lynne, Congratulations, we are all such creatures of habit and dependent on our favorite blogs to get the juices going each day. I am so relieved you are back. All the best to Birdie, I hope she will post here too.
    The blog looks great !

    • Thanks sophie…much appreciated.

  29. Anon

    So glad you started this. Almost feels like Newsbird never left! Life wasn’t the same for a week without this place.

    • Hope to live up to all the expectations.
      Thank yew! πŸ™‚

  30. sportinlife10

    SO GLAD to have found y’all. Life was just not right with the Birdies gone.
    Thanks for the work.

    • Hi Sportin, so happy you found us again…welcome to the nest πŸ™‚

  31. srdem65

    There are two intiatives that may be on the ballots in Arizona this year that express the feelings of Arizonans to the Federal government. Both deal with the ham-handed, outrageous sanctions and dismissal of the States rights that constitution prohibits.
    When the Obama adminstration refuses to effectively defend our border with Mexico and accuses our law enforcement of “racial profiling” in their efforts to uphold the law they are in violation of their oaths to protect all of us.
    The Obama administration refused to allow the city of Tombstone to repair water lines that crossed federal lands with modern equipment and forced the good people of that city to use picks and shovels to ensure that water flowed for their citizens.

    We’re sick and tired of these illegal and spurious attacks on us. We’re not sheeple here in Arizona. We didn’t move to this state for the glorious summer weather, or the beachfront property, but for the old-fashioned conservative way of life: one example…..when the street sweeper comes to my street and if someone left their car parked at the curb, the sweeper just drives around it..no parking ticket, no fine. A little thing to be sure, but it shines a light on how my city/state works.

    http://azdailysun.com/news/local/state-and-regional/initiative-would-let-voters-overrule-federal-law/article_50d0e77c-d27c-5828-a3b6-d818c0042700.html

    Imagine legislators in your state proposing such a thing!

    • DLeigh

      Environmentalist started small…and we have endangered species on a list that are not really endangered, weeds that grow every seven years, but lets protect them too by using seed counters with an agenda, and we slept as they took our BLM lands. Then they went for the county properties and into city growth regulations becoming the EPA run a muck. Regulations are growing in areas that if you were not a part of that industry you would never know about it. It cost money to hire professionals so they are not hired, stops the growth, stops improvements, stops the dreamers and more importantly stops the jobs. You go Arizona….keep biting at their heels!

    • Oh, if only Srdem. If only!
      We do have The Great Lakes Treaty signed by all Governors of states surrounding the Great Lakes to prevent the Fed from stealing from us. At one time the State of Nevada wanted a pipeline to run from the Lakes to their state. Federal Gov tried to do an end run around the states. It was stopped in its tracks.

  32. srdem65
  33. Waiting for 2012

    Thanks for the great new site, LynnII! I’d be so lost without of all you guys. I like being part of the “birds of a feather” set. I like the background color, too–it’s easy on the eyes, unlike dark colors.

    Please tell Birdie that she’s in my thoughts and prayers, and I wish her all the best.

    • Thanks for the happy…. πŸ™‚
      It’s great to have the birdies together again.
      Hopefully Birdie will read all the well wishes and know how much all of us depended on her for a place to gather.

  34. MTVA

    Good morning, Birdies. Have you seen the ridiculous quote on several news sites from Barky saying that most people would agree that he’s tried really hard. Tried really hard at WHAT? Campaigning, vacationing, spending our tax dollars, shaming our country??? Too unbelievable!

    • Let me count the ways he’s tried really hard, hmmmmmm? Let’s start with all those GOP jobs bills collecting dust on Harry Reid’s desk.

      If you follow WHD daily schedules, Obama rarely starts his day before 11 and ends them around 4 on a typical day. Unless he’s flying to a fundraising event or having a party.

    • The only thing he’s tried really hard is to get elected and now re-elected. All the rest of that governing stuff in between had to be put off for the lavish entertaining and luxe lifestyle.

    • srdem65

      He’s playing the “victim” again. He “inherited” a bad economy, the Repubs won’t do what he wants, the big money is going to Romney and then there were the tsunamis, the ATMs, the mess in Europe and whatever else he can blame his incompetence on so that he isn’t responsible for anything.
      There is something so racist and off-putting about his demeanor and it’s very subtle, but there it is;
      he’s telling us that everything and everyone is against him because he’s Black.

  35. nellyq

    can’t forget the 100+ rounds of golf. I guess that is what he has tried “real hard” at.

  36. Bijou

    Yippee! This is GREAT!
    Congrats, Lynn II, on this lovely new blog!
    I, too, read about it on MOTUS’s site, (who, BTW, is the official Queen of Snark, and we love her for it).
    Glad to see a lot of familiar “faces” here. This is going to be a tough few months, and we need all hands on deck.
    Best of luck!

    • Oh thank yew for coming to the unveiling! It feels like a party in here! πŸ™‚

  37. succotash

    Hi ! So glad that you are back and I know you will be a success as everyone who gathers here are like-minded individuals who only want the very best for this great country that we love and can feel it slipping away. I am old and don’t have many people to talk to so it is very cathartic to come here and listen to others and discuss issues. Thanks and I pray every day for God to deliver us from evil.

    • welcome aboard! πŸ™‚

  38. Nice to see all the familiar names. I couldn’t post often on Newsbird but was comforted that it was always there and the birdies were being watchful, informing us of anything trying to slip through the cracks…such as the entire FlimFlam Man agenda. I’ll check in as often as I can for updates. Thank you, Lynn for carrying it on and BigBird hope you are well and getting a well deserved rest.

    • So kind of you to come here….thanks for the well wishes. πŸ™‚

  39. Lulu

    Good going, Lynn II….we hope that Newbird is well and happy and having some peace – and that maybe she’ll drop by and say hello to all her loyal fans who were so grateful for her blog. Now you have picked up the flight….Good luck!

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚
      it is my greatest wish for Birdie to see all your posts and know everyone is wishing her well. Hope to live up to the trust she gave me at Newsbird’s Views.

  40. Green Dragon

    My prayers and thoughts go out to Birdie. Lynn II, thank you for taking on the challenge. Newsbird is where I went to get a logical view of things. I was so upset whent I clicked on Newsbird and saw it had been pulled. That was very bad for a grouchy old lady—I had to go take my “nice” pills so at least my dog would come around.

    Thank you so much Lynn II, I certainlly enjoy your well researched posts. Comments and snarks of others are also much enjoyed. Much more enjoyable as brain exercise than puzzles.

    • Thank yew! πŸ™‚ So many responses in the last few days, it’s a little overwhelming. We birdies have to stick together.

Trackbacks

  1. “Lynn’s Little Nest” (Newsbird 2.0) is Here !!!! | Stealth Magnolia
