Lynn's Little Nest

A fine WordPress.com site

Your blog, Your choice

I’m sure many of you remember Calistressthemistress. She is now commenting on this blog but, I have her/him in pending. Only one comment so far. I am leaving this one up to all of you to decide whether to allow comments from this particular person. In the past on Newsbird it was left to the moderator. Now, you get to choose. So, before she is either taken out of pending or sent to spam you get to decide. It’s your blog, it’s your choice. After all, this is a Republic and we all get to vote.

Romney won over the OH focus group. The LSM was so very unhappy, writ large in their whole demeanor. Reality is such a kick in the head for them. Video at the link worth watching. It will make you smile.  http://althouse.blogspot.com/2012/10/video-romney-wins-cbs-focus-group-in.html

Some tweets on “horses and bayonets” set BO straight and poked some fun;

So far, “horses and bayonets” line by O the best of the night at #debates.— Howard  Fineman (@howardfineman)

“horses and bayonets” is the new “binders”— Matt Mackowiak (@MattMackowiak)

Big Bird, binders and bayonets. #presidentialdebatesSahil  Kapur (@sahilkapur)

Seeing a lot of outrage from military folks on Obama’s two sequestration  jokes, esp. on the bayonets. A lot.— Ellen Carmichael (@ellencarmichael)

I guess that’s one thing you don’t learn as president. RT @pambestederWow!  Just heard on Fox News that Marines STILL use bayonets!— Ann Coulter (@AnnCoulter)

Does China sell us bayonets? Because we can cancel that order.— Jeffrey Goldberg (@JeffreyGoldberg)

Heh: RT @jpodhoretz Obama just  lost the Civil War reenactors with that attack on bayonets.— Michelle Malkin (@michellemalkin)

http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1012/82730.html#ixzz2A8rBAU2l

and thanks to Annies Mom for this;   http://www.sgtmacsbar.com/CCTPhotos/Gallery24/HorseSoldiers/HorseSoldiers.html

someone should let Obama know about this monument to the Horse Soldiers of Afghanistan

Sequestration, the future of defense….Obama said “It will not happen”, Plouffe and Axelrod are walking it back to “should not happen”. So, who the hell is the President, Obama or them?

“I think the president declaring it will not happen is critical for the  health of the country and our national security, I’m glad to see he’s  recognizing that,” said Marion Blakey, president of the Aerospace Industries  Association. “What is concerning is that some of his advisers are saying, well,  the thought was it should not happen. There’s a big difference between will and  should.”

Blakey said it was too soon to tell whether Obama’s statement signaled an  actual change of policy, but she said she hoped it did.

“As far as the health of the economy is concerned, [it’s good that he is]  putting the power of his office behind overturning a law that should never have  been put in place,” she said. “And let’s remember that it was both the  administration and the Congress who signed off on this, but administration  leadership is critical.”

http://www.politico.com/news/stories/1012/82736_Page2.html#ixzz2A8ssnHGK

The latest plea for more cash from the Obama campaign via Gateway Pundit

Friend –

I don’t want to lose this election.

Not because of what losing would mean for me — Michelle and I will be fine no matter what happens.

But because of what it would mean for our country and middle-class families.

This race is very close.

I’m not willing to watch the progress you and I worked so hard to achieve be undone.

Time is running out to make an impact — please don’t wait any longer. Donate $5 or more today:

I believe in you. If you stick with me, and if we fight harder than ever for the next two weeks, I truly believe we can’t lose.

Thank you,

Barack

Gone from “I can’t lose” to “I don’t want to lose”.  Isn’t it nice to know BO and MO will be fine when, not if, he loses? Knowing the media darlings will be “fine” is another good reason to vote for Romney.

MOTUS has her take on the debate and as “THEE MIRROR” is her usual sparkly snarky self. Who doesn’t like honest reflections of our pols?

So, Governor Romney’s take away message: “President Obama promised to begin to slow the rise of the oceans and heal the planet. MY promise… is to help you and your family.” And Big Guys: “Make sure you keep those Chinese tires properly inflated, I promise to overrule Congress on sequestration, and let me just remind you that I whacked Osama.”

What a summation of an eventful night!

open thread….

60 Comments

  1. We don’t need C’s negativity here. Debate is fun and healthy, but her brand of namecalling and falsehoods has no place on this site.

    • Your vote is duly noted.

  2. Obamacare’s war on women…this does seem to be a lot scarier than not getting free birth control

    […]Here’s a sampling of what the Preventive Services Task Force dings: chlamydia screening in most women over 25; cervical-cancer screening in those over 65; breast-cancer screening using digital mammography or MRI instead of the traditional plain film.

    Screening for ovarian cancer and the genes that raise a women’s risk of breast cancer also don’t make the cut. Same for clinical breast exams in women older than 40.

    Even having a doctor teach women how to do a breast self-exam is unlikely to be covered, since the task force says women are rarely the ones to find their breast cancers.

    Americans first became familiar with the Preventive Services Task Force in November 2009, when it made the controversial decision to advocate that women ages 40-49 shouldn’t get routine mammograms. More recently, it rebuffed routine use of tests for detecting the viruses that can cause cervical cancer. And now it’s calling the shots for what benefits must be included and what can be nixed from our plans.[…]

    http://www.nypost.com/p/news/opinion/opedcolumnists/obamacare_women_FYTsXImaj9vd4C7EBRbiAP

  3. I thought BO said he would be nice for the remainder of the campaign.

    http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/ticket/obama-hammers-romney-florida-debate-153947795–election.html

    • Obama, the crybaby…small minded man…it’s not working..
      Good news, tied in OH with Romney.

  4. Love you all ! Keep on keeping on 😀

    • Hey!! Was thinking about you. Where you been? 😀

  5. The Original

    I don’t remember Calista so maybe I shouldn’t vote. However, I think I know where she is going with her nickname, and I just don’t like it.

    • duly noted

  6. The Original

    So, I am watching Cavuto on Fox about the recent earnings reports. It does not look good. Obama is going to be leaving Pres. Romney a HUGE mess. I don’t know why he would want the job.

    • Dupont is laying off 1500 people, DOW down 243 points, economy is beginning to constrict again.

  7. I am all for healthy debate and discussion with allowing all viewpoints to be heard. However, I felt that that person you were referring to crossed the line too many times. He/she was too abusive, provoking and generally had nothing to offer to the discussion at hand. Let him/her go find another blog. Just my opinion…

    • Annie's Mom

      I agree with you, Kathy. My vote is no.

      • Waiting for 2012

        And I second that. I vote “no”.

    • I, too, like healthy, reasonable debate. If my family members can give solid reasoning for their conclusions, I enjoy diverse political views.
      I do not remember Calista using the above tactics. I would prefer not to deal with her unreasonable contributions.

  8. Vanity Fair posts “hilarious” yearbook pictures of high school-aged Mitt Romney. Fails to mention anywhere that this is a spoof.

    http://www.vanityfair.com/politics/2012/10/mitt-romney-high-school-pranks#slide=1

    • Waiting for 2012

      I just LOVE the comments for the VF article.

      • Methinks the people are on to them.

    • Funnnneeee!!! LOL 😀

  9. Francine

    I vote no, what would be the point. If she were willing to be open minded and mature and debate in a nice manner it would be one thing, but she hasn’t shown that previously. The best predictor of future behacior is past behavior 😉

  10. I’m curious about the pending post. What has she/he said to warrant posting priviledges? Is the first contact made after Newbird went dark?

    • Not so much what she/he is saying now but, from past experience, how abusive she/he will get. A lot of commenters have had run-ins and that’s why they get to make the decision on this issue.
      When this blog started, I said it belonged to everyone from Newsbird. That is the main reason all of you get to decide. 🙂

      • Francine

        Thank you Lynn 🙂

        • Welcome…it’s the way it has to be. 🙂

      • Thank you Lynn. I love this blog. Loved it when it first started w/ Birdie, and I love that you are carrying on. You are doing a fantastic, amazing job, and I appreciate all the hard work you put into it. I come to the nest every day, several times a day, and feel I have made so many new “friends” here. I look forward to our “conversations”, and I have learned so much from you as well as the other Birdies. Thank you for giving us some input as to how the blog is run. Keep up the great work!

        • Francine

          Ditto! ❤

        • Thank you, we’re all in this together. 😉

      • Thank you Lynn–I remember this person as being very foul-mouthed and resorting to name calling most of the time. I also remember that when she/he was blocked, she/he sneaked back in under other names only to be betrayed by the usual (for this individual) name calling and use of deplorable language. Therefore, I don’t see what, if anything, this person would contribute to this blog.

  11. Missing Laura Bush

    I dont post very often but I read everything here. I vote no, don’t let the troll in. She was abusive. And thanks, Lynn for all you do. Your research and opinions are excellent!

    • Thanks and your vote is counted.

  12. srdem65

    I don’t quite understand the whole ‘troll’ mindset and how they think their nasty or snarky comments would be helpful. They’re everywhere, on every blog.
    I would rather he/she not be permitted to comment here unless he/she has something to contribute to the conversation.

    • OK…vote counted

  13. Carole

    Oh my goodness, did I miss out on “the famous troll of months ago?”

    • No sweetie, you didn’t miss out…the post is in pending….this is your blog as much as it is mine…how do you vote?

  14. Francine

    About Trump’s “big” announcement tomorrow…I was brushing it off as hype and most likely a big letdown and also irritated Trump has to announce that he will announce something days later. However, in looking at the astrology I saw something that makes me think it could be something serious for Obama.

    In astrology, a transit is needed to set off a natal promise. I tend to think there is cause for concern for Obama. I have said previously that Obama’s node/uranus conjunction which is conjunct the royal star Regulus is a natal promise of a quick rise to the top followed by a fall from a high place.

    This promise was born out when he did so poorly in the first debate on October 3rd when transit Mars squared his uranus/node conjunction. Now along comes Mercury tomorrow to square it again. Will be interesting to see if it is all hype or absolutely nothing.

    An article about this:

    http://www.examiner.com/article/trump-s-obama-announcement-cryptic-tweets-causes-stir

    When Trump’s special-counsel was asked about Donald Trump’s Obama announcement, they responded by sending a link with this attachment.

    Is this a hint or what?

    • The Original

      In the Daily Mail, they are saying that Trump got hold of copies of Obama divorce papers.

      And whatever it is that Allred has, it has to do with one of her “clients”. I am thinking it could be some woman who accused Mitt Romney of some sexual harrassment that basically went nowhere. It it went somewhere, the “client” would keep her mouth shut because she would have received some type of award that was dependent on her keeping her mouth shut.

      Allred is just out trying to cause trouble. I sure hope it backfires on her.

        • francinepink

          It would be a huge letdown if it were divorce papers. No one cares about that! All marriages go thru trying times. I hope Donald isn’t that stupid to dangle this as a huge story and then get laughed at for something that would have absolutely no effect on Obama.

        • Waiting for 2012

          Didn’t the Obamas once say they once considered breaking up years ago? I seem to remember that awhile back. Heck, I ADORE my hubby, and even I’ve threatened to leave him! (And then I calm down, and realize that I couldn’t imagine spending the rest of my life with anyone else–and he says the same thing about me.) I just wish Trump with shut up. He does more to hurt the conservatives than to help them.

          • Unless there is something truly damning in the divorce papers, I don’t see how this will benefit R/R.

  15. Francine

    Just looked at Trump’s horoscope and he has transit Pluto opposite his Mercury which can mean he has been digging for info and uncovering secrets. We shall see…

    • He has enough money to dig for anything…now my curiosity is definitely peaked.

    • I wish I understood astrology better. Does Mitt still look good in the coming weeks?

  16. Francine

    Yes, Mitt seems to get better in coming weeks. My prediction is he will win but that goes against maybe 75 percent of astrologers out there. As someone who is big in economic astrologynsaid, “we will either find out they are all correct or they are all liberal.” with astrology being “new age” most astrologers have a liberal bias.

    • Thank you for the update. 🙂

  17. Francine

    http://www.ijreview.com/2012/10/19925-chris-matthews-this-is-about-racial-hatred-for-obama/

    Interesting point:

    “How can you tell an election is going well for Chris Matthews?  The country suddenly becomes a beacon of light and hope.  How can you tell an election is going badly for Chris Matthews? We’ve suddenly become a bunch of racists.  I’m pretty sure that his post-debate analysis tells you more than the polls which direction this election is going…”

    • It’s always good if you’re President (Commander-in-Chief) to know just a tad about those who serve the country and military capabilities. If you don’t know, you learn. Leaving it up to a czar or your wife is not the way to go.

  18. Greta announced these as ‘late breaking’ tonight, she looked very upset.
    http://www.reuters.com/article/2012/10/24/us-usa-benghazi-emails-idUSBRE89N02C20121024

    • Waiting for 2012

      Benghazigate.

    • She isn’t the only one. All the lies and hypocrisy just to win an election….They stood there with those four bodies and lied to everyone ….there is an American citizen locked up over this. WTF!!??!!
      BO says Romney “can’t be trusted” but, who can trust BO when he constantly lies to us then doubles down on those lies?

  19. “Will explosive details from divorce case of ex-Staples CEO stop Romney becoming president? Allred ‘heads to court to unseal Republican candidate’s sworn testimony'”

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2222204/Will-explosive-details-divorce-case-ex-Staples-CEO-stop-Romney-president-Allred-heads-court-unseal-Republican-candidates-sworn-testimony.html#ixzz2ADlLdMRg

    • This unsealing of divorce records is a replay of “the president’s” run for the US Senate when he was running behind the Republican candidate until his campaign found a judge (in California if memory serves me) to rule to unlock the records of a messy divorce. Just shows how frantic (“the president’s) re election campaign is now.

      BTW whatever happened to all those “abused” women who Ms. Allred was representing against that vicious sexual predator, Herman Caine?

    • srdem65

      Oh, brother. Is this it? Like anyone cares about some divorce proceeding of a couple that no one knows. So, MrRomney spoke on behalf of the woman’s husband….ewwwww how awful….(sarc)

  20. Thanks for the link love, LynnII!
    R.J. Lower
    Lower the Boom blog

  21. Francine

    They are saying he spoke in a divorce case on behalf of his good friend who owns Staples about the value of Staples stock and that he underestimated it so the wife would get less than her fair share. Also, supposedly Gloria Allred has some former maid who worked for the Romney’s saying she had an affair with him, rolls eyes. I get this stuff from reading liberal blogs which is almost more than I can take some days. Here is something nice:

    http://www.denverpost.com/ci_21839256/romney-ryan-rally-at-red-rocks

  22. Francine

    Donald’s big announcement:

    What do u think?

    • BO won’t do it…

