Lynn's Little Nest

A fine WordPress.com site

Giving Thanks

Freedom of speech without fear of reprisal

Freedom to worship

Justice and a fair trial according to the law

From a grateful nation to all those who serve and keep us safe

and who keep others in far off countries safe,

Freedom from fear

For all those who come to be free because of what this great country has to offer

“Now they desire a better country, that is, an heavenly: wherefore God is not ashamed to be called their God: for he hath prepared for them a city” Heb. xi. 16. – Lincoln’s Devotional

I am also thankful for all of you who come here, commenters and non-commenters alike. Thank you all for your support.

Happy Thanksgiving! Freedom from want.

60 Comments

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, ladies! We have much to ge grateful for this year. Love and blessings to all of you and your families.

    • I am grateful for each and every single one of you… and to your family as well.

  2. The Original

    Happy Thanksgiving . . . may you have a wonderful time with family and friends. God bless you, and God bless the United States of America.

    • You too! :)

  3. francinepink

    And thank you Lynn for all your knowledge and freely giving of it. Have been stuck in Calif due to car trouble but on way home today, thank you God.

    • Stay safe, and thank you! :)

  4. Carole

    Happy Thanksgiving to all the birdies. I am so greatful to all of you for keeping God in your hearts and for being great patriotic Americans. It is through the knowledgable and correct information on the nest that has helped me to become a better politically informed American citizen. God bless you all and God bless our beautiful and plentiful America. I am so thankful to God for my brave hubby, my cats Oreo and Chole, and my little cute Monte Del Sol, our dog. I appreciate having been raised by two parents who loved their country and considered hard work as blessing to gain financial prosperity. I love my two sisters, I love my best friends and I am thankful that we are able to live in a free society. I have been blessed with a good education, a love of my profession and the financial benefits it has provided to me as an American citizen. Dear birdies may your Thanksigiving day be full of love, lots of delicious food and good family spirit and joy.

    • Make a joyus noise….have a wonderful Thanksgiving day (Yes, I know I misspelled the word joyous) :)

  5. Annie's Mom

    I am thankful for our dear Lynn and all the birdies that congregate here. Wishing all of you a happy and yummy Thanksgiving!

    • Thank you for being my friend…. :D

  6. Wish all you Birdies a very happy and blessed Thanksgiving. May we all have a peaceful day filled with family and friends. May our loved ones who are far away also participate in the blessings God has shown us and may they come home safely.

    P.S. Am starting a list of things to put into the first care package I’ll be sending my son. I remember how he complained of the dust that got into everything in Iraq. Afghanistan looks even dustier so baby wipes will definately be in the box!

    • Send a card to your son from the “Biirdies”…..sign our ‘names’ to it.

    • Carole

      Love to be able to send your son a “goodie box” Nellyq.

    • Annie's Mom

      Anything we can add?
      {{{hugs to your son}}}

    • Thank you all. I am sending him that ecard, since he does have off & on internet access. When we last communicated, he didn’t know what his FPO address would be so can’t send packages yet. I can make lists of what I will send though!! Hope all Birdies are having a HaPpY Thanksgiving!!

      • p.s–my Blue Star flag went up in the front window as soon as received yesterday. . .

      • Carole

        Thanks Nellyq. I love to support our brave women and men in the service since my hubby was a B52 navigator with over 100 missions into Vietnam. The men and women of that conflict got very little moral support so I like to make sure other military men and women do.

  7. srdem65

    Love the Norman Rockwells, so nice. Happy Thanksgiving to all as we remember that we have so much to be grateful for.
    A special grateful “thanks” to Lynn2, who kept this little nest flourishing for us, and one for all who meet here to share our thoughts and lives.
    May God Bless America, and us, too.

    • Glad you like them…. :)
      Have a lovely Thanksgiving.

  8. conner43

    Lynn, Thank you for your insights and hard work. God bless you and all the birdies.
    Happy Thanksgiving to all.
    sophie/conner

    • You have a good day too, and thanks for being here. :)

  9. srdem65

    OT: a reminder on TV that the victims of hurricane Sandy are still suffering without electricity and some without their homes, belongings and mementos. The families of the 100 or so that persished are not having a fine holiday either. I thought of others whose loved ones are far away at war, or serving at sea and land who won’t share the Thanksgiving dinner. I thought of “Bunni” who is facing the end of life and others who won’t ever be born.

    I’m not being morbid, just human I guess. I think how “lucky” I and my loved ones are today. I’m thankful for being born in America, for my family that’s safe and warm, for those who sacrificed to keep us all safe and will pray for those who are suffering and wish the Good Lord give them peace.

    • {{{{hugs}}}….you have a good heart and, that is not morbid by any means

  10. The Original

    By the way, Lynn . . . and other Birdies . . . if you ever get to Stockbridge, MA, go visit the Rockwell Museum. The Four Freedoms are in a room by themselves. And they are huge paintings. So worth the trip to see. I would recommend it.

    • It’s on my bucket list…. Love Rockwell and his everyday folks. ;)

  11. Obama and family at the DC food bank for an hour….MO’s mouth wide open as usual.

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2236656/Thanksgiving-2012-Obamas-return-DC-food-bank-hand-bags-healthy-treats.html

    • srdem65

      They have some gall; handing out food that other people have donated as if it came from them. If the story read that the O’s had donated xxxxlbs of food, then I would be impressed.
      I would be further impressed if the O’s shared Thanksgiving dinner with the homeless at the Salvation Army’s kitchen. Never gonna happen.

      And BtW if 50 million people are getting food stamps then who are the people getting “free” food?

    • White House menu….

      Turkey
      Ham
      Cornbread Stuffing
      Oyster Stuffing
      Greens
      Macaroni and cheese
      Sweet Potatoes
      Mashed Potatoes
      Green Bean Casserole
      Dinner Rolls

      Dessert:

      Banana Cream Pie
      Pumpkin Pie
      Apple Pie
      Sweet Potato Pie
      Huckleberry Pie
      Cherry Pie

      • More pie than vegetables? Tsk, tsk, tsk.

  12. Happy Thanksgiving Lynn and Birdies ! So thankful for all these years we’ve spent together, good times, even during the bad, as long as we birds of a feather stick together :D

    • and….Happy Birthday to you!! :D

    • Waiting for 2012

      And Happy Thanksgiving (albeit late!) from me! Sorry to be tardy in my greetings. We’re having our family Christmas tomorrow (we skip Thanksgiving), as it’s the only day we can all get together before January. Been on my feet (literally) since 7AM, cooking, baking, cleaning and decorating. With a bad knee I hurt on Sunday. Just have to Swiffer 2 more floors, arrange flowers, and decorate the mantel in the study, then I can collapse into bed! :-)

      I hope the Birdies didn’t eat TOO much birdy today. We must watch our waistlines, you know-Obamacare is right around the corner, and we don’t want to be scolded for being stout! :-)

      • Better late then never… :)
        Have a good time at the Christmas gathering….

  13. Happy Thanksgiving everyone. I don’t comment often, but I visit everyday and feel like I know all of you as friends. So happy for this site to help keep me sane and realizing that I am not alone in how I feel about so much.
    Also very thankful for all the other blessings in my life such as family, grand kids, plenty to eat….actually to much:)! Happy Thanksgiving!!!!

    • Happy thanksgiving…glad you made it here! :)

  14. Francine
    • Ayn Rand would be proud of that article…. :D

    • Annie's Mom

      Butt…butt…how can that be? We’re always hearing that our _resident is loved and honored all over the world! Such a gaff-ridden trip and crickets from our press…

      • Well, he did give away 6 billion dollars without approval from anyone.

    • The country is in the very best of hands….. s/
      BO always takes a “victory tour” after he wins something…..and comes back empty handed.
      This second term will be no different…

  15. “the nation’s food banks are raising the alarm as the holiday season gets into full swing.
    Demand for food assistance – unrelenting as the U.S. economy slowly recovers from the worst recession since the Great Depression – ticks higher during the winter holidays.”

    Looks as if Romney did do the right thing….maybe the guffawers on the left will ante up

    http://news.yahoo.com/u-food-banks-raise-alarm-drought-dents-government-062756285–business.html

  16. Oh no, he didn’t, how could he…..we can’t feed our own
    “Yesterday the United States, Brunei, and Indonesia formed the US-Asia Pacific Comprehensive Partnership for a Sustainable Energy Future, and President Barack Obama promised up to $6 billion for the green energy idea.”

    http://www.breitbart.com/Big-Government/2012/11/21/Obama-Promises-Six-Billion-For-Green-Energy-In-Asia

  17. This makes no sense at all.

    “Twinkies bakers say they’d rather lose jobs than take pay cuts”

    http://news.yahoo.com/twinkies-bakers-theyd-rather-lose-jobs-pay-cuts-075558559–finance.html

    In this economy, I’d rather find a way to make due with less than with nothing. Every penny is important these days.

    • Annie's Mom

      Earlier in the week, FBN reported if all the employees stayed on unemployment for the maximum 78 weeks (I think that was the correct number), it would cost more than $540 million dollars.

  18. Annie's Mom

    Oh no! Malia is emerging as our next style icon!!! Good grief…she’s 14 and can’t appear in public without holding mom or dad’s hand…

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2236982/How-Malia-Obama-blossomed-awkward-teen-Americas-style-icon.html

  19. srdem65

    I hope you all had a nice day. I’m turkey-ed out, ate more pie than i should have.
    Tomorrow egg-white omelet, light salad. Just to even things out.

  20. Nothing says “Happy Thanksgiving” like my mother greeting me with “You lost, get over it.”
    … and Happy Thanksgiving to you, too, Ma.
    I didn’t lose, for I will succeed. She retired yesterday and is depending on a yummy pension, unaware that pensions can change in bad times- pie crust promises in this teetering economy.
    She went on about all the good that Michelle Obama is doing, and how wonderful everything is, and how great our country is, and I don’t know where she’s getting this information. Worse, I’m wondering where she’s Not getting information.
    As her grandchildren left to go stand in line for Black Friday, my father bemoaned the greed of corporations opening their doors on Thanksgiving. I turned the John Lennon quote on it’s head a bit and asked, “What if they had a sale, and nobody came?” It’s just as greedy for consumers to push and shove for a second rate TV with a pinch of money taken off as it is for those stores to be open.
    My sister was upset that Hostess was closing. Letting all those people go will start a ‘trickle down’ effect in the economy. I politely corrected her that trickle down economics doesn’t work, and she should know as she’s been telling me this all these years.
    I did ask, however, with all that hard work Moochie put into her dinner plate food guidelines, what would ever possess a person to want to try a Turducken. It’s three dead animals at once, surely the First Lady, after striving so hard to come up with a dinner plate motif to go with food (go figure), would be chagrined at such gluttony.

    Sailed right over their heads, like everything else.

    • All my guests had to say was “everything you said was going to happen has happened.”
      They’re learning fast!

    • srdem65

      Don’t be too harsh on the Obots, they are only reflecting what they see and hear on MSM.
      There are no sad stories about the 23 million who can’t find work on TV, no specials highlighting what sudden poverty and being dependant on the government does to a marriage or a family. Obamacare is “free”, evil WallStreet and greedy corporations are responslble for all that’s wrong, Repubs are mean and don’t care about anyone,

      So many people are not interested in politics or even care to watch the news. They pick up stuff here and there, an unbelieveable amount of them think Colbert et al ARE the news.

      I watched a segment on CNN this morning and they were interviewing a woman who used to be a lawyer for the PLO. No counter opinion, just hers. No one asked her to prove what she was saying.
      What did she say? Israel was “occupying” Palestine land and “oppressing” the good people there. During a demonstration at the “no man’s land” border, shots were fired and many injured, one killed. Who did she say was killed? A farmer on the way to work his field.

      It’s stuff like this that people hear. It’s on CNN, so it must be true, right?

      • You are right. I feel sorry for them. I don’t think they are very prepared, and it’s going to be a harsh winter. What’s funny, is lately, nothing like that riles me. I wish them well, and am grateful I’m not them. I just kind of smiled at them, the same way you would smile at a drunken old aunt whose just made an ass out of herself again, and doesn’t realize it.
        Your note about CNN makes me lament a little bit about ‘freedom of the press’. What’s the good of having that freedom if all you are going to do with it is kowtow to the king?

  21. Francine

    Seems Black Friday gets worse every year. I can hardly believe what I see in this video, sickening…
    http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=eb8_1353646434

    • Annie's Mom

      OMG…I have no words for such behavior…

    • Black Friday derangement…..

  22. Annie's Mom

    O/T Rant…I lost my BFF yesterday. Background…as a 20 year old, she moved to Hawaii and married a native…he screwed around and left her with 3 little ones. She managed with lots of government help and when they were all 18 she moved back here.
    Her oldest daughter (mid-30′s) was out last year with her 4 little girls, all under the age of 8. She was ready to leave her DH who was unstable and on SSI. Surprise, she went back to him, got pregnant again, and had their 5th. A few months later, she left him again and moved into subsidized housing. Then he committed suicide. Now, instead of being broke (no welfare available, as they’d used up the 5 year allotment) she’s flying all 6 (over $5 grand round trip) out here for a month to see snow! She can also afford to fly her mom out to Hawaii for 2 weeks so she can help with the flight here…then another round-trip for mom to help them get home. Son of a gun…all little ones will receive SSI until they’re 18.
    A local charity is helping with warm clothes for the girls…she can afford a month vacation, but still relies on others to dress her kids. When I suggested that might not be a wise use of the funds…the stuff hit the fan. This system is so broken…as I’ve said before, it’s time to just pull the plug and let it fall. I’m sad, but I’m angry…

  23. Francine

    I understand completely and so sorry also, I had something similar happen. A friend, whose daughter graduated college and decided to take a year off before grad school (using money her wealthy grandpa had put away for her), started getting foodstamps because wow, you can get foodstamps automatically if you have graduated and have no job! Doesn’t seem to matter if you are looking for a job or not. This friend is a conservative in every way but did she say anything to her daughter about this? Of course not. In fact, when daughter got back from a 3 month trip to South America, the foodstamp money waiting for her was over $600 and they went shopping and bought up Costco. I was pretty disgusted. Yes, I know her daughter was of age, but I found it inconceivable that I would not talk to my daughter about the wrongness of what she was doing. In fact, I talked to my daughter after that and told her she was never to steal government money that way. Funny how some folks conveniently dump conservative vaules when there is “free” money involved. She is in grad school now and probably still getting the foodstamps.

    • Annie's Mom

      I’m sure someone can explain it better than I can, butt, no one is willing to pass judgement on anyone. It doesn’t matter if you’re a Black Friday crazy buyer or a kid trying to take advantage, no one is willing to say, “no, it’s wrong”. I saw the same code of silence in my DH’s family….by the age of 22, his grandson had fathered 3 children by 3 different teenage moms. Both dad and grandpa just shook their heads…I was the only one who told him to keep his penis in his pants and this wouldn’t happen. They were all shocked at that. Good grief! Wrong is wrong, and yet we, as a culture seem unwilling to speak.

      • We are considered ‘too blunt’ or ‘crass’ and should know our place, until it’s time for us to slop out the money.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

