Lynn's Little Nest

A fine WordPress.com site

“Check Ur Privilege”

Since the “race card” has officially expired, we will be inundated with the “white privilege” canard. Yes, I am privileged to live in the greatest country on the face of the earth. This country gave me the privilege of starting a business with $200.00 and a license to work. That license gave me the privilege of working 10 to 12 hours a day, 7 days a week, to become modestly successful as a small business owner. Evenings and week-ends were spent keeping appointments or figuring estimates and job proposals. The color of my skin has nothing to do with my ability to compete and do my job, neither does my gender. The decision to compete on an equal footing, not belonging to the various orgs. which base criteria on color and gender, was the best one to make for our business. It gained us respect from our peers in the trades by operating on an equal footing. We worked with the shop teacher at a local high school to give his students on the job training and earning power, not unpaid internships. It was certainly a privilege to teach the up and coming tradesmen, mostly carpenters, how to build and read blueprints and take a pile of lumber and turn it into a home. For all this privilege, I am so grateful. Only here, in the best of the best countries, could all this privilege have happened. I’ve checked my privilege, and it’s doing just fine.

The plain fact is that what they understand to be “privilege” is really just what regular people understand is a “consequence.” It is a consequence of hard work, of delaying gratification and of sacrifice. No one came and bestowed this country upon us. We built it. Some of us died doing so. If we have privilege, it was earned at Bunker Hill, Gettysburg and Normandy. It’s not a function of skin tone or the number of vowels in your name; it’s a function of character.

It’s because of that privilege the narrow minded, sophomoric left has free speech, a country with a Constitution that guarantees the right to redress wrongs, and has the privileges it does now. They really need to get some historical perspective.

 

Not to be outdone by the “Check Your Privilege” loons on college campus, MTV has decided to jump on that bandwagon.

MTV Launches Project to Fight ‘Hidden Bias’ Among Millenials

On Thursday, MTV announced that it would be launching a “Look Different” initiative designed to uncover “hidden racial, gender and anti-LGBT bias.” MTV will be creating a documentary on Millenials’ perceptions of race and fairness temporarily titled “Untitled Whiteness Project,” a public service announcement series, an “Implicit Bias Quiz” and a week-long “Racial Bias Cleanse” program to help re-educate young Americans about their bias.

To be perfectly honest, if anyone needs to “check their privilege” it’s the leftist phony do-gooders who have turned minorities into victims to oppress even further by using them for political power and financial gain.

From the comments;

“I’m ROFLMAO at some of the groups co-sponsoring this idiocy:

CAIR, the organization which supports terrorism, is anti-Semitic, anti-Christian, anti-woman, and anti-homosexual–really? CAIR?

La Raza, the group whose name means “The Race,” and who says “for the race (meaning Mexicans) everything, for the rest nothing.” Really? La Raza?

Then the bigoted, anti-Christian LBGTQIB crowd, for real?

The NAACP which believes that black Conservatives are house negroes and Uncle Toms. The same NAACP that is in bed with Louis Farrakhan? Really? NAACP?

These people have to be kidding!…[snip]

 

I’m white, female and proud of my accomplishments. I am not your “enemy”……

Any bloggers requesting links to their site please leave them in the comments. I will be more than happy to add you to the blog roll and link to articles after checking out your site. Together we are stronger.

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Carole

    Ditto from me also Lynn! I was privileged to be born in America with two parents from Irish backgrounds. They made me save all my 4-H ribbon money and money from various summer jobs to pay for my first year at Colorado University. They encouraged me to work at any job I could find to pay for college. I was privileged to gain a National Defense Grant to pay for the rest of my college expenses. I became a teacher and paid back my grant by working with students in school districts that were considered to be in financially disadvantaged areas. I am proud of my service to children as a teacher. I am also proud to live in a country that provided me the opportunity to be educated and live financially as a “middle class citizen.” America is a wonderful country and living in it as a productive citizen is “real privilege.” I see no war on women in this country, instead I see a war on being a Christian and a citizen who strives to be financially independent as a productive, successful individual. Somehow being “wealthy” or “financially successful” has become an “evil status” for some Americans.

    • The Progs will never understand that we are exceptional because of the “real privilege” of living in the greatest country that has ever existed. The ONLY war on women is how the left denigrates us by telling us we’re not capable or strong enough to take care of ourselves without Sugar Daddy Government.

      • Putting lids on people- that’s what they are doing- smashing them down to fit in labeled boxes. They are easier to,control, that way.

